Blogging, Reading, Writing

10,000 hours of Writing!

I keep meaning to write, for one reason or another. I love the idea of being the next great American novelist, but that means I actually have to write something, every now and again. My fiance once told me that in order to me an expert at something – at the level of Mozart or Herman Melville – you have to work on your craft for at least 10,000 hours.

I do not plan on writing for 10,000 hours straight (that would literally be suicide), but I do plan to write, and 10,000 hours or 600,000 minutes is an easy way to keep track and motivate myself. I am not counting the hours I logged getting my BA in Creative Writing, nor am I counting the countless hours of journaling/blogging/letter writing/etc. that I put in before this point, which is exactly 3:16pm on October 9, 2012. (I am also doing a separate count down of 10,000 hours for the amount of time I spend reading. Reading, as we all know, is an integral part of writing).

But from here on out I will keep track of all the time I spend reading and writing, until I hit the 10,000 mark each. By then I would hope that a more studious reading/writing habit would be formed. One can only hope.

What will my readers find in my blog (if dear readers, you ever come to exist)? Well you will find my words – prose, poetry, short stories, current events, etc. Anything and everything I dare to write, as well as important words of others who I admire, aspire, loath, detest, or mock. I am sure the majority of this will turn into a running commentary/memoir of my life, but hopefully the monotony of that will be broken up by other things.

So here we go…599970w and counting.

Standard

One thought on “10,000 hours of Writing!

Leave a Reply

