Bike Trip

Bike Trip

In the summer of 2011 my friend Ivan and I took a bike trip. We started on the coast of Virginia and biked all the way to Washington, ending 200 miles before our planned destination. We also attempted to keep a blog of the trip. We started out great, but about half way through (roughly 30 posts) we petered out. To this day that poor little blog drifts, aimlessly and unfinished throughout cyberspace.

I am afraid that is the way it is going to stay, but I have decided that it should live on in some form or another. I am going to start transferring the posts that Ivan and I wrote over to this blog and repost them. I may even add in some supplementary posts along the timeline.  Once I have finished posting the material that currently exists, I will then work on finishing the story, which may or may not be successful considering the trip was over a year ago now. Oh fickle memory! Maybe I will just make stuff up to fill in the gaps.

I would never. I am also going to try to be organized about this. What can you expect? Each Friday at 8am there will be a post chronicling the bike trip. Here is the first of the posts ever made (almost) about the bike trip. It is titled “Wait, What?” and it was written by my awesome biking partner Ivan. He is a good read: quirky and funny. So here it is, the beginning of the end so they say (dated Saturday June 18, 2011):

The idea: Ride a bicycle from the Atlantic coast to the Pacific coast.

Such a large idea distilled into one sentence. Sounds simple enough, and really, it is. Mine and Nikki’s only responsibility for the next three month is to make sure we get back home across the country safely. We’ll have gone crazy, and be sick of each other, but if we’re alive and have all of our limbs, mission accomplished.

I’m still trying to figure out blogging on my phone. I love the future! If it works as well as I hope, expect to see regular updates from myself and Nikki. If it proves to be temperamental, well, we’ll keep you guys updated some other way. With all the Facebooks and the Twitters and the phone calls, we are going to be more connected than ever.

We’d love to hear from you all as well. It will keep us motivated and homesick, which is what you all really want, yeah? Wouldn’t want to drop off halfway across the country.

Standard

Leave a Reply

