Personal

Ironically Sunny with Hurricane Sandy

As I scour the internet for more information on hurricane Sandy it is sunny outside. Seriously, there is a break in the clouds and it is sunny.

Granted, I am in the northwest (nowhere near the storm) and even though it has been raining on and off for the past two days it seems a little ironic that the storm of the century is bearing down on the east coast and that it is sunny here.

It is sunny and to be honest I kind of want to crawl under my desk. I have heard from all of my family on the east coast (Cape Cod, MA and New London, CT) and all are safe and hunkered down, but I can’t help being a little nervous.

Which brings up the question: how scared do we get to be? I mean for those of us on the other side of the country with family in the thick of it? My brother, who is currently locked in his dorm building at the Coast Guard Academy, tells me I am being silly. He has been communicating with me via text for most of the day now and is really calm. He is playing video games, watching movies, and being generally undisturbed by the storm. I mean if he ignores the fact that he can’t go outside and that the wind is howling at a meager 70mph.

No biggie.

In reading all of the online press, I can’t help noticing that everything is in the past tense. As in, “Hurricane Sandy moved toward the New Jersey coast Monday afternoon…”

I would just like to point out that for some of us Monday afternoon is not over, and for everyone on the east coast Monday itself isn’t over. So why the past tense? I do not know. I am sure they have a good reason for it, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. This thing is nowhere near over, so why make it sound like it could be?

Also, I tried watching a news video with Al Roker from MSNBC about the hurricane and I turned it off before he even came on the screen. The opening shot is of a beach being battered by waves as they announce “Hurricane Sandy: Today,” which is splashed across the screen in big flashy letters and narrated by a man’s voice that sounds like it came straight from your typical car commercial: over the top, smarmy.

Let me take a moment to say right now that I know I might be overreacting. But I am going to rant anyway, which was not the original intent of this post. I find it insensitive that MSNBC has a graphics logo for the hurricane, when people are losing their homes and lives. I mean 70-80 percent of Atlantic City is underwater, and the worst is yet to come.

Go ahead, call me a drama queen. Everyone else does.

I would just like to see a news cast that is opened calmly and without pomp and circumstance. I feel it is safe to say that all news stations are going to have great ratings during and even after the storm. I mean who isn’t glued to their TV (except me), and if you are not clued to the TV there is a stong possibility that you have read a lot of blogs/news articles/tweets about the storm.

Sandy is providing enough drama without the news world dressing it up as the main event that it is. I do understand that they are doing their jobs, and I respect any news anchor that is willing to stand outside in the storm to bring us the breaking news.

But please leave the cars salesman at home. Call it respect, call it pity, call it whatever you want. Just leave him and the logo at home.

I also know that they might be trying to cater to a different audience than myself. With friends and family, including my LITTLE brother back east, I am glued to this thing. I am having a hard time thinking about work. It is surprising to me that the tenor in my office building is chipper. But not everyone here has family there. So maybe a flashy news intro is exactly what they need to get engaged.

Maybe not. I hope not. But then I think about where I was when Katrina hit, and how much I noticed or cared. I mean I cared, but this time around it is a completely different feeling. I am obsessed, whereas before maybe I was one of the ones the news was trying to reach?

Food for thought.

Be safe everyone.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

