Blogging, nanowrimo, Writing

Flirting with NaNoWriMo

What is NaNoWriMO you ask? Well I’ll tell you, but you might wish that I hadn’t. It is National Novel Writing Month. What Month is National November Writing Month you ask? November. As in tomorrow.

Naturally I have made the decision to participate in Nanowrimo at the last-minute. Ok so I have 14 hours and 57 minutes until it starts, so I am not coming to the table completely last-minute. I have 14 hours to prepare. 8 of which I will spend working, 1 I will spend at the gym, another hour I will spend cleaning the bathroom that I use at my aunt and uncle’s house where I am staying (because it kind of needs it), and I would like to spend the next 8 hours sleeping. So I will be starting late.

What is the point of Nanowrimo? To write a novel in one month, and not just any novel. Nope you are supposed to write at least 50,000 words. That is 30 days of writing at least 1,666 words a day. Does that seems a little ominous?

The kicker? You are supposed to write with abandon. No editing, no spell checking, no revising, just writing. Just writing.

JUST WRITING. No I am not freaked out. (why do you ask??)

I have no idea how this is going to go. Traditionally, I am a rather neurotic writer (who isn’t?), but by having to write 1,666 words a day maybe I won’t have time to be neurotic. Or I will take up smoking and hiding out on the roof in the rain, rocking back and forth, writing out loud like I have Tourettes, and ducktaping stray cats to my legs–even though I am VERY allergic to them. Maybe I will wear one as a hat.

Anyway, the fun starts in just under 15 hours. I apologize now to all of my friends and family for the next month. I have no idea how I am going to handle this. You think I am crazy now? Wait until day 30. I am also going to try to keep up my blog while I do it. Because I am THAT narcissistic. Maybe I will even do updates about the writing process, but don’t count on it. My blog posts for the nest month may look something like this:

!!!!oihsdfjhaldfhadfigdfihgljdafhgljkahsgjahfgluiyvpbiohpdfgbatgjbasldgujhbm ane;fkjgb;abh’ghn!!!!

Am I taking on too much? nawwwwwwwwwwww

If all goes well, this could become a annual tradition for me. Please, remember that you all love me.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Flirting with NaNoWriMo

    • How did I know you would like that? P.s. I love the word abandon. If you look at it, it is kind of ugly, but when you think about it and all that it applies…it is pretty beautiful.

      • Thad says:

        You know me well. And yes, ‘abandon,’ is a good word — and really, the contrast between the initial ugliness of the word’s appearance and the beauty and depth of its implications is perfectly appropriate.

Leave a Reply

