Blogging

Bowing is Awesome

At the end of the work day, my boss was heading out the door. She had her hands full. Her purse, lunch bag, computer back, plus a plastic bag with a change of clothes. I had been standing in the middle of our little cubicle and she couldn’t wave good-bye so she did a slight little bow. It wasn’t over the top. It was just a gentle rock forward with a slight tilt of the head.

My immediate response? My body went ahead and did the same thing back. It felt so natural, though I can pretty much guarantee that I have never bowed to anyone before.

I think we should bring bowing back. It is awesome and dignified. Shaking hands is not as cool as bowing. I mean some situations you just don’t want to shake someone’s hand, and sometimes you just look stupid waving to someone, so let’s all agree to bow. It feels good.

Go ahead, try it.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Bowing is Awesome

  1. Thad says:

    I strongly support this. Yet another unexpected point of similarity between cousins. Think bowing is genetic?

    However, while bowing is far and away the coolest formal greeting, a hug still wins out in the affectionately informal realm. Also, it should be noted that attempting to combine the two becomes very awkward very quickly.

Leave a Reply

