Personal

More Than Christmas

I love Christmas. I love the holiday season. Since I work in a school district, my vacations are preset (except for summer) and I get two weeks off for Christmas this year. This means I get to spend two straight weeks with Fusband, my brother, and my parents. All of us have not been in the same place, at the same time for about six months, so this is all very exciting.

December brings a lot of exciting things: My mothers birthday, Christmas, my birthday, my best friends birthday, new years. Not to mention the traditional excitement over the tree. The fact that this will be the second Christmas that Fusband and I get to spend together, decorating our tree in our own (rented) home.

Stating the obvious: I am very excited.

But it all pales in comparison to January 25th. January 25th is what I have come to think of as “My Final Move.” It is the day that my current job ends and I get to move back to Troutdale (home sweet home). I am serving with AmeriCorps VISTA, posted as a small non-profit to help them build capacity and sustainability. I do love my job–it’s challenging, fun, and the work is something I can be proud of. BUT Fusband moved from Seattle to Portland about six months ago? Maybe longer. I can no longer remember. That move turned a 45 minute distance between us to 3.5 hours.

Driving 7 hours almost every weekend gets old. I am always amazed at how close and comfortable Fusband and I are with each other, considering we have only really spent the weekends together since we started dating. I mean granted we started dating while on a rather intense bike trip, so we got to know each other really well from the get-go. But I am ready to be in the same town for longer than a two-day stretch at a time.

So this year, the end of January trumps December and all it has to offer. I am still excited, but I can’t help but think of it as one more thing to get through until the 25th rolls around. Anyway, happy holidays everyone! We are only about 9 days out.

When did that happen???

Standard

Leave a Reply

