Life

Something New

So I have been absent for a while. I am blaming it all on the stress of the transitional period where my job ended and I moved back home, but instead of sharing my childhood home with my family, I am sharing it with my Fusband. Needless to say there have been a lot of changes in a short amount of time. Luckily, the only thing that has suffered is my writing.

Fusband and I have worked out an arrangement. He will support me while I stay home and write. I mean I would like to make money writing–that is the plan, but you don’t start out that way. Especially if you haven’t been turning out any product. Anyway I am now home, and I now have the time to write, but what I have found is that I have no time to write. In order to feel useful–in order not to feel like a mooch–I feel like I have to do other things. I need to clean, go grocery shopping, plan our wedding, etc.

Up until today I have not sat down and done any writing. What is different about today? Well I start a new volunteer job, and since I am starting one new thing I figured I might as well blog too. Today I get my first hospice care volunteer assignment. I am assigned one patient at a time, and I will spend four hours with them a week, each week until they pass away. Then I will get another patient.

Some have called me crazy; some say it is admirable. I think it sounds like fun–minus the drag of the patient’s dying. But I think I will be good at it. I like that every patient will be different: old, young, small, large, funny, angry, dying of old age, dying of disease, coherent, comatose. Mostly I feel it is an honor to be able to just keep someone company, while the conclude their life. I am sure it will get emotional. I am positive that I will get attached and that some of this will go to my head.

Maybe after this week I will feel differently, but my gut is telling me that it will all be worth it. I have decided to listen to my gut.

Anyway, not the most eloquent post, nor the longest. But I am getting back in the saddle again. I am going to work out a new writing/posting schedule. I haven’t decided yet how often I want to post, but I am sure you will all know soon enough. If you are still reading me, thanks for sticking around.

It gets better. I promise 🙂

Standard

4 thoughts on “Something New

  1. Courtney McAra says:

    Hi Nikki – Glad to find your blog and be able to follow you on your adventures. I actually am considering starting one next month, I’ll have to reach out to you for advice. 🙂

  2. Jared says:

    it’s amazing how having so much “time” can really lead you into a ditch when it comes to writing. I’ve been there before, and often. I think the added structure can only help you.

    • Structure, Structure, Structure. It is definitely good for me. I don’t know how many times I will be saying, “back in the saddle again.” I guess as long as I am getting back up there it doesn’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

