Not writing

A New Practise

I now have a sign on my wall, exactly 6 inches away from my computer, that says: “No more writing about NOT writing–NO INSECURITIES.” Because if I have to write one more journal entry or blog post that explores the inner darkness of my writing psyche and how I cannot seem to get the lead out (literally) I might slit my proverbial throat and push my proverbial body off the side of hole that opens over all my fears, anxieties, insecurities, and doubts.

I just might do it anyway.

So I bought a book: A Writer’s Book of Days by Judy Reeves. Besides all the lovely encouragement and advice, she gives a daily prompt for practicing. The prompts are for inspiration and are meant to be hand written for about 20-30 minutes. Judy says things get better. That with practice the writing will only get better.

That’s what they all say.

So today I asked for a paid book review. This is my first paid writing gig. When I turn in the review I will get a whole whooping 10 bucks. I caught up on my record of how much I have been reading and writing, updated the countdown on the blog, and I updated what books I have been reading . I wrote to the prompt “in a state of disarray”. I am blogging. I put up my sign, reminding me to be positive and to write about something else for a change.

I purchased a small notebook to carry around in my purse, so that when an idea strikes I can write it down, so that later I have somewhere to turn for inspiration. I haven’t used it yet, but it is quietly living in my purse until I need it.

I have marked my calendar for Nanowrimo 2013, and I already have a concept for what I will write then. Now I just have to send an email to my editor friend and tell her that I am down for sending her pages on my book and then get down to work.

And I deleted the post I was writing about right before this one–the one about how I couldn’t seem to write anything.

Progress??

Standard

Leave a Reply

