Life

Season of Weddings

It has been the season of weddings. Kashi and I will have been to six, including our own before it is all over. I was in my first wedding (besides my own) earlier this month. My dear friend Cat married her college sweetheart Jon on August 5, 2013, and it was an incredible experience. I have to say it was nice to be on the other side of things. To be past the planning, the stresses, the experiences, and be a part of making their big day as wonderful as possible.

I didn’t write about our own wedding. I thought about it, but it felt too much like tooting my own horn. I LOVED our wedding. So many wonderful people came to support us, the ceremony was perfectly us, and we had a pretty awesome reception. But it was just as great getting to experience Cat’s wedding. To be as happy for her as people were for us. To see a wedding that was just as beautiful, just as meaningful, and just as reflective of the couples personalities as ours was.

Hows that for not tooting my horn??

Anyway, Cat’s wedding was one of the most unique weddings I have ever been to. As an example this happened:1174876_10152184493707222_1000014217_n

And this was the Groom:

1234207_10152184493612222_1599317407_n

 

There was a DIY cupcake decorating station, and make your own fruit shish kabobs. There were Nerf gun battles, first round was capture the flag, and  the second was girls vs. guys. Where the bride was Queen and the Groom was King, and there was marital discord in the kingdom. Both monarchs had put out a hit on the other, and it was up to the rest of us to hide and protect our own monarch, while hunting down the other.

So cheers Cat and Jon.

1011902_10151455843082051_1568653394_nI drink to you, and may you always settle your differences with a Nerf gun.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

