nanowrimo

Nanowrimo 2013

We are one month away from Nanowrimo 2013, which means we are only one month away from me morphing into a crazy, word spewing, drooling lump of a human. Or at least that is what happened last year when I attempted to write 50,000 words in 30 days in November. Am I looking forward to it?

ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Yes? Maybe.

At least I think I am looking forward to it. Last year was sort of a train wreck–I will admit. I started off going strong. I was writing at least 1,600 words a day. I was diligent, prepared, punctual. But then I hit the week and a half mark, and I stopped. Full stop, stopped. I didn’t write a word until I crawled out of my hole of denial during day one of week four. WEEK FOUR.

It was that Monday when I realized that I only had 10,000 words written and five days left. So I pulled a couple of all-nighters, called in sick to work, and wrote like crazy. I wrote 30,000 words in a week, ten (thousand) of which were on the last day of Nanowrimo, but it wasn’t enough. So around 11:30pm, thirty minutes away from deadline, I threw in the towel.

So I packed up my sorry behind, crawled into the car, and drove from Tacoma to Portland where Kashi was. I got to our place around three in the morning. I have never seen Kashi so scared when he woke up to me standing over him in the dark. I think he hyperventilating for about twenty minutes.

That was Nanowrimo 2012. This is Nanowrimo 2013. Obviously I am hoping to finish this year. I am also hoping to be slightly less of a train wreck and to not basically take a two-week hiatus from writing in the middle of the month. The biggest difference this year is that for at least the first couple of weeks of Nano I will be in California helping my new sister Gita with her new baby. A lot of you know how much I love babies. Maybe I can use the infant as motivation?? No cuddling till after the word count for the day is completed?

Sounds like a plan! Babies.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo 2013

  1. Thad says:

    That will be interesting. Does what you write have to make sense? I was imagining you waking up to write every time the baby wakes up to eat. The biggest help to mom (at least the one here) is to burp that baby after the feeding so momma can go back to sleep at the same time the baby sleeps. So you’d have to be up to write before you can cuddle and burp, change, rock or whatever it takes to get the baby back to sleep. It’d be good practice for the mommy schedule. Not sure what you’d write at 3 am after sleeping in 2-3 hour intervals. If you are lucky that baby is a really good sleeper.

Leave a Reply

