Life

A Little Update

So it has been a while…again. I refuse to apologize. Well alright I’m sorry–a tiny bit sorry. It has been two-week since my last blog post, and even longer since I have actually written anything for the blog. WordPress has this great feature where you can schedule posts. Unfortunately this totally encourages procrastination because I will sit down and write three or four posts at a time and then forget about the whole blog thing for a month.

Woops.

Nanowrimo begins today. I didn’t sleep all that well last night, most likely due to the anticipation. I am hoping it goes better this year than last. As a reminder it is a national event where writers everywhere sit down and try to write 50,000 words in 30 days, during the month of November. Last year I went crazy. Here are three posts to prove it: Getting Started with Nanowrimo, Nanowrimo, I hate you, and The Tortured Writer. My goal this time is to just hit my word count goal everyday. Falling behind is literary suicide, so this time I plan to write EVERYDAY.

We will see how it goes.

Other than Nano looming over my head like a dead turkey, life has been good. I am currently in Northern California, staying with my brother and sister-in-law to help with their new baby. My ovaries are thrilled, but I think that scared my husband. My days have been beautifully slow. I have been reading, playing with the baby, writing a little, and sleeping. Marvelous. There is sun here, which is a HUGE bonus. Last year around this time, I was already experiencing the winter doldrums that only the Pacific Northwest can provide. Thankfully I get to forestall all of that for a little while this year.

Gita (my sis) has promised to withhold baby time until I hit my word count for the day. I feel like this will be a very effective motivational tool. My ovaries won’t like it if I take too long to get the lead out. They might take over even.

What a scary thought.

What else is new?

I am now a member of the newest recruits the Multnomah Country Search and Rescue (SAR). It is eight months of trainings and outings until I am completely certified. I am following in my brothers footsteps, as Corey was a part of SAR  all throughout high school. A lot of the members of SAR still know Corey and apparently they tell me I have big shoes to fill. But then I was confused because they seemed to be talking about my baby brother.

I read 16 books this month. I honestly have no idea how that happened. It has to be some sort of record for me. At least it is a record since I left middle school–I was a crazy reader back then, but I also functioned on much less sleep. 16 books! Granted a lot of them were silly, fun reads. They didn’t take as much time as a more serious novel. Some of them were rereads, so I could just breeze right through them. Despite all of that 16 books is still pretty cool.

I know this has been all over the place, but I just wanted to give some sort of update. Now I need to go work on my novel for Nanowrimo. I am going to attempt to keep blogging during the month of November, but I make no promises. I was even thinking of doing NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), which is where you post something everyday for thirty days. But again I make no promises. We will just have to wait and see how it all turns out.

Ciao!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

