nanowrimo

Nano Day 3

Last night I dreamt that the reason I couldn’t finish Nanowrimo this year was that I was mauled by a bear. It was dark and I was walking home with Husband. We were out in the country, with stars in the sky. It was a beautiful night and then there was a huge bear. I immediately curled into a tight ball that the hear decided looked like fun to play with. Husband started running and I shouted something like: “Don’t be a hero!.”

But then I woke up this morning and I was still in tact and I still have to write. I might be mourning the fact that I wasn’t mauled by a ferocious bear–that this show must go on. All I can say is praises be that Daylight savings ended this morning at 2am as it means I got an extra hour of sleep before I had to get up and start writing.

For the past two days, and today, I have been getting up by 7:30 to be writing by 8. For those of you who know me well, you know that I LOVE SLEEP and 8 is generally my early morning time. I like to sleep in to 9 most days. So this is a big step for me. Hopefully I can make this a habit, because I do like having the extra time in the day that getting up earlier provides–I just hate getting up earlier. But a month of rising at 7:30 should pretty much make this a habit right??

Another habit that would be nice is the 2-3 hours of daily writing to start the day. Right now I am having to push myself through the word count, but maybe after Nano–without the pressure–sitting down to write for a couple of hours won’t be as nerve-wracking. Right now I need ideas to flow freely and that makes me nervous. Because what if they stop?! It could happen and the mere idea of it happening is enough for me to want to stop writing, so I have to keep bringing myself back to task.

Or I start daydreaming about bears.

Standard

Leave a Reply

